Twice each year we celebrate Navratri: Chaitra or Vasant (March-April) & Sharad (October). To me these nine nights and days are as much about worship of Goddesses (devi as we know them) as about acknowledgement of the strength and energy women possess. From being a birth-giver to a gentle nurturer and a protector who acts like a shield in times of difficulty- a woman exhibits these qualities and more. It is these traits that are represented by each of these Goddesses whom we worship during this time.

During Chaitra Navratri, (the current one) the devi to worship today- day one- is Shailputri. Maa Shailputri is the First Form of Maa Durga. She is the daughter of Himalaya. She is also known as “Parvati” and “Hemvati”. Likewise, each day is dedicated to a different Goddess who has a different form, style of worship and colour associated with her. To know more read this.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.